Hello, welcome to Berwick Academy Download Latest Prospectus

Arrow up
Arrow down

Berwick Academy



David Cairns

David Cairns - Chair of Governors

I am Agrochemical Director at Simpsons Malt based in Berwick-upon-Tweed; responsible for supplying advice and products to arable farmers in the trading area for all crop inputs, and procuring malting barley for the company.

I am passionate about all children being able to achieve and reach their academic potential.  For this reason, I have been a governor involved in all stages of education in Berwick-upon-Tweed, hoping to both support and challenge our community schools in their provision of an outstanding education for all children from ages 4 - 19.



 Sarah Swales Governor

Sarah Swales - Community Governor

I bacame a Community Governor in September 2014 and also act as the link Governor for GATE (Gifted, Able, Talented and Enthusiastic) pupils, Child Protection (including SEN and LAC).  I am also on the Finance Committee.

I studied at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne in the 1990s and since graduating have worked in the private sector, NHS and Prison Services.  I run a dental practice in Berwick upon Tweed, where I act as a mentor and also support dental nursing students, mainly through the apprenticeship scheme.

I believe that every child should be educated in an environment in which learning is enjoyable.  By creating this, students will be able to achieve their potential, develop their skills, confidence and attitudes to succeed in the future.


Mrs Deborah Currans - Community Governor


Dr John Reed - Community Governor


Professor Richard Freeman - Community Governor


Mrs Laura Robertson - Parent Governor


Mr Mike Maud - Parent Governor


Mrs Yvette Hiroz - Parent Governor


Mrs Carol Colbourne - Parent Governor


Dr Susan Farrington - Partnership Governor


Mr John Gilchrist - Partnership Governor


Mrs Alexis Widdowson - Staff Governor


Mrs Karen Bagley - Support Staff Governor


Mr Andrew Dickson - Teaching Staff Governor


You are here: Home Home Governors